George’s

A year ago at this time, I was unemployed and looking for my dream job. I spent a lot of time thinking about what that meant to me. There’s a part of me that says “Hey! Pay the bills! Sit at a desk and have a reliable paycheck!” There is another part of me that says “Do what you love.” Unfortunately, when you are broke and living at home with your parents searching for a job to pay the bills, opening up your own restaurant is not a viable option. Still….

George’s, Harrisonburg VA

I  have spent a lot of time day dreaming about this local restaurant, which has never been open the whole time I have lived here. Apparently the story is that the owners live upstairs and refuse to sell. A friend of mine told me that a lot of people have approached George about the place, but he utterly refuses to part with it. The romantic in me understands the refusal, but the practical part of me is shaking her head, incredulous that the owner wouldn’t want some extra income and to see the place up and running.

I have a vision of opening it up as a late night diner, complete with retro booths, a flat top grill, and some amazing re-imagined “classic” diner food. My favorite midnight snack after coming from the bars is something I would like to have on the menu. I call these Whiskey Eggs (No whiskey included, just something I always want after several whiskey on the rocks!)

Whiskey Eggs

1 egg

1 piece of cheddar or pepper jack cheese

1 corn tortilla

Frank’s Red Hot sauce

Fry the egg gently in melted butter. Make sure the egg yolk is still runny. Microwave the tortilla with the cheese on it for about 30 seconds to melt the cheese. Scoop the fried egg on top and sprinkle on hot sauce to taste. Eat like a taco. Sleep immediately.\

I’m pretty sure my George’s would be a huge success if I could get the old man to sell the place. We’ll see. Stranger things have been known to happen.

Leave a Reply

