What I Love: D Is For Dino

One of the great things about having a blog is that I decide what is important to me and then I pass it along to you ūüôā Something I am excited and passionate about these days is supporting my friends in their business ventures, whatever they may be. And boy, do I have a lot of friends who are bucking the system and going out on their own to do what they love. They are inspirational and wonderful and I can never wait to see what they will come up with next.

To highlight these amazing people and their crazy(amazing) businesses, I am starting a series here called What I Love. Each entry will highlight someone whose business I know, love, and use. Up today is……D is for Dino!

Image

Run by my friend Kristen’s husband Matt Cheadle, D Is for Dino is all about fun, functional and hilarious art. On offer are totally awesome labels and posters. Matt’s work has been featured by¬†Young House Love,¬†Fab.com,¬†Scoutmob.com,¬†Modern Artifacts,¬†Richmond Magazine, and was named Richmond,¬†Virginia’s Best Etsy Shop 2012.¬†You can find Matt’s store here:¬†http://www.etsy.com/shop/DisforDino

Image

I asked Matt some questions about his business. Here’s what we talked about:

1) What is your business all about?
D is for Dino started as an outlet for the crazy ideas that are constantly running through my head. It has transitioned into a place not only for me to be creative, but also a place for me to work on custom orders for birthdays, weddings and other events.
 Image
2) Do you have a day job in addition to your “fun” job? If so, what is it?
I work part time in a local boutique candy shop, The Sweet Spot. The store opened two years ago and is owned by two sisters, Chrissy and Sarah. It’s an awesome place!

3) Where do you find your inspiration for what you do?

I am constantly inspired by my surroundings and the little details of life – from the folds of a grocery bag handle to song lyrics or quotes. Just walking around and talking to people provides me with tons of ideas.

4) Tell me something about your business that you wish everyone who bought from you knew?

Since most of my prints are digital, I don’t think people realize the personal touch I give to each of them. All prints are individually packaged by me and my wife with custom details and we put¬†love into each shipment that goes out. A lot of time and care goes into both the print designs and packaging because¬†I truly appreciate each and every customer.

Image

On this Small Business Saturday, consider supporting my friends Matt and Kristen, since they are awesome and do what they love.

One thought on “What I Love: D Is For Dino

Leave a Reply

