Crispy Zucchini Fritters with Chili Lime Sauce

Another Pinterest win!

In the “Let’s try not to grocery shop till Saturday” budget control strategy I have devised for the week, I am getting a lot more creative with what I have on hand, which today was zucchini, eggs, and onions.  Stretching every food dollar is getting more important to me lately as I try to pay off my moving expenses and start saving. When all the bills are paid, not much is left over, so I’m trying to find cheap but really good recipes that will be healthy and good. Actually not too hard once you readjust your mindset to include more veggies!

One great thing about living in Northern Virginia again is the amazing number of Asian grocery stores. I love Super H Mart the most! They have amazing produce, including fruits and veggies I’ve never even heard of, crazy amounts of spices, oils, and grains, and really nice cuts of meat. The best part is that it’s all incredibly cheap, so I find that my money tends to go much farther there. If you can get past all the crazy traffic in the parking lot, the narrow aisles, and the weird fish smells, you’ll love it too. 🙂

When I was at H Mart last, I picked up some zucchini for super cheap, as well as some leeks. Yum. I made a ratatouille this weekend and used half the zucchini, so I was left with a half and had no idea what to do with it. Pinterest saved the day though, with this recipe from Family Feedbag for Zucchini Fritters.

Zucchini Fritters with Chili Lime Sauce

Zucchini Fritters with Chili Lime Sauce

Yummmmmmmm. They were delish. I made them gluten free by subbing in 1/2 white rice flour and 1/2 cornstarch for the flour. I also changed up the sauce by using Chobani 0% fat plain yogurt with 1 tablespoon of mayo for flavor, rather than all mayo.

Try them out and let me know what you think! What veggie dishes do you like during the summer?

Leave a Reply

