Skinny-ish Chicken and Black Bean Quesadillas

Today was not a great day.

I had a very long meeting. I had a nasty run in with a rude pharmacist at CVS. Most importantly, I came home and realized that I had exactly 1/4 of an inch of wine. BOOOOOOOO. (Update: As I was writing this, boyfriend showed up with TWO bottles of my fave wine. He said “I always know how much wine you have left.” He wins the good boyfriend award.)

The thing that is going to turn this all around is dinner with the boyfriend. We’re having a crazy week and I’m seriously happy that we get to share a meal tonight. Something interesting about us: I am gluten intolerant and boyfriend has hypoglycemia. He’s literally so sensitive to sugar that he can’t even eat most fruits, some veggies, or any Splenda. This makes things challenging but fun and actually I realized this past week that this means we are basically on the South Beach diet!

Still on the healthy eating kick, I decided that I would like some Mexican food. High protein, low fat if you can stay away from overloading on cheese, it’s a great option. No tomatoes (sugar) means no enchilada sauce and no flour tortillas (gluten) means no burritos. So how about some corn tortilla quesadillas?! You’re welcome world.

I think that the taste of this dish really depends on the spices you use. They need to be FRESH, friends. You really shouldn’t be keeping spices so long that they don’t smell anymore…so take a sniff before you get started. I buy most of my spices at Penzey’s, which is a brilliant store with crazy good spices and blends. Check them out, I get nothing for promoting them and you’ll love their stuff. If you sign up for their catalog, you’ll get coupons for free samples on your next visit. Again…you’re welcome.

Chicken and Black Bean Quesadillas

The world’s worst picture of the most delish dinner….sorry

I didn’t exactly follow a recipe, so I can give you approximate amounts. So here is what I did:

Mexican Black Beans

1 can of low sodium black beans, drained and rinsed

1/4 onion, chopped

1 clove garlic minced

1 tablespoon veggie oil

1 teaspoon Penzey’s chili powder (their chili powder has ancho chili powder, cumin, garlic and Mexican oregano in it)

1/2 c. water

Salt

Pepper

Saute your onions in the veggie oil. Whey they’re translucent, add the minced garlic. Once you start to smell it, add everything else and cook until you notice that the water is reducing and the beans are becoming a paste like consistency (kind of like refried beans. Set aside.

Spiced Chicken

I basically just sliced up some boneless skinless chicken breasts into small flat pieces, across the grain of the meat. I sauteed with some chili powder, salt, pepper, and a squeeze of lime. These don’t take long since they’re small. Cut one open, check if it’s cooked, and then set aside.

The Quesadilla

Assemble! Take a corn tortilla, put some Mexican cheese  blend shredded cheese on it, then layer on beans, chicken, maybe some veggies (I didn’t have any others around) and then a final layer of cheese. Scoop the whole thing into a preheated pan with a little veggie oil and fry it up crispy on both sides. I made a quick little guacamole to go with and also tried some of the Chipotle Lime Sauce that I made to go with this week’s Zucchini Fritters….the sauce was AWESOME with these! Really tangy. The boy approved of these and actually stopped after one (first time ever).

So cheap, filling, and simple is a good way to go 🙂 What kind of quick Mexican food do you like on a weeknight?

 

Leave a Reply

