What I Love: Small Batch Prints

It’s time to feature another amazing friend with an amazing business. Allie Hasson did this interview with me forever ago, and I am just now getting around to blogging it, but the plus side is that my lazy assness allowed her the time to get a gor-ge-ous Etsy shop up.…go laziness? Let’s also talk about her unbelievably beautiful website. I can’t even with this girl, she’s much too talented.

This is Allie. She's so pretty.

This is Allie. She’s so pretty.

So Allie makes these custom hand lettered signs, stationary pieces, invitations, etc. THEY ARE INCREDIBLE. Buy them. Buy all of them now before she is so famous that you can’t afford her anymore.

Obsessed with gold leaf things right now!

Obsessed with gold leaf things right now!

 

1) What is your business all about?

I’m a hand letterer and graphic designer making graceful and approachable correspondence and communication for print and for web. I make logos, invitations, maps, monograms, custom paintings, illustrations, and bespoke stationery. After several years of research (working at the National Postal Museum), I use my knowledge of and knack for casual and elegant lettering styles to create work that features letterform design specific to each client.  Custom work is made beginning with a conversation between my client and I where we find out what their vision for the piece is or, if needed, we create a vision for the piece together.  From there, I make work that is both classic and thorough, as well as fresh and well-aligned with its function, purpose, or meaning.  

Invitation

2) Do you have a day job in addition to your “fun” job? If so, what is it?

Yes!  I’m fortunate to work at Columbia College in Chicago, where I manage a large interactive space in the Art + Design department called the Materials Lab.  There, I curate a collection of materials (of all kinds) for the students to come and take from and be inspired by and use in their projects.  The materials come as donations from all over Chicago, many times they’re material samples from architecture firms, and they vary widely from paint chips to fabrics, resin, stone, glass and paper goods, and are free for students.  It is fascinating to see/touch/smell so many new colors, textures, patterns, and resources on a daily basis.  I think it keeps my aesthetic eye fresh and discerning.
Map
3) Where do you find your inspiration for what you do?

In addition to my work at Columbia and a long-nurtured fascination with handwriting (I took a calligraphy course in elementary school), my paramount source of inspiration for this project was my time at the National Postal Museum.  Prior to moving to Chicago, I was so lucky to work in DC at Smithsonian’s National Postal Museum.  During my time there, I made digital images of thousands of historic stamps and letters from all over the world that were being prepared for exhibition.  For that year and a half I would spend the day at work and getting so jazzed about seeing the amazing hand-lettering or intricate design up close, and then go home and try to develop my own interpretations of those styles.  The stamp layouts and patterns (particularly the ones from the 1940’s) also really stuck with me.  


Illustration

4) Tell me something about your business that you wish everyone who bought from you knew?
I think I’d like people to know that each piece of my work, and specifically custom pieces, is a labor of love.  One of my favorite parts of this process has been getting to work with people on making pieces that commemorate something important in their lives, whether it’s illustrating words from their love story or crafting an heirloom family crest.  I feel so fortunate to be able to spend time on these projects, and I really enjoy creating work that can exist indefinitely as a reminder of the best moments in life and ideally can be passed down through generations.
Family Crest
Leave a Reply

