Roasted Cauliflower with Smoked Paprika and Parmesan

So I live in Harrisonburg again. Ping ponging around Virginia just seems to be my lot in life, and I’ve just accepted that I’m a rambler and am seldom happy in one place for very long. The best part of this move is that I got to keep my job in Northern VA and am now a full time telework employee! I love the freedom this allows me, especially in terms of my meals. I appreciate the fact that I can easily make something healthy and cooked, rather than trying to subsist on salads or leftovers nuked in the microwave. I also got a pug named Mini, and she gets walked 4-6 times per day around our neighborhood, which is so much more fun than sitting in an office.

Now that I’ve unpacked most of my stuff and have settled in, I am finally cooking again and cooking well. South Beach is coming back in a big way in my life, so vegetables are where it’s at! One great thing about moving back to this area has been the availability of fresh produce, as well as the fact that I can walk to the farmer’s market. So even though I’m in a house that has mice, a tiny kitchen with no counter space, no dishwasher, and window AC units (I do not love these), I do have a lot of fresh food and that’s a big deal.

Today I arrived home after a wedding and didn’t feel much like cooking. The problem was, I ate like crapola all weekend because I was traveling. I needed vegetables. I looked in the fridge and realized I had two heads of cauliflower, which is one of the all time easiest veggies to prepare and is low carb and South Beach friendly! Necessity is the mother of invention, as they say, and within 20 minutes I had dinner ready to go. Try this the next time you have zero desire to cook but need something healthy in your body. I ate about half of it with some sliced tomatoes and cucumbers for dinner and feel completely satisfied. Cauliflower is a perfect blank canvas for the strong tangy parmesan and zippy lemon to play on, spiced up by the smoked paprika and garlic.

Roasted Cauliflower

Roasted Cauliflower

Roasted Cauliflower with Smoked Paprika and Parmesan

1 head of cauliflower
Olive Oil
Salt
Pepper
Garlic powder
Smoked Paprika (I used Penzey’s)
Freshly grated Parmesan cheese
juice of half a lemon

1) Preheat oven to 350 F.

2) Trim the leaves off your cauliflower. Slice cauliflower into florets and spread on a baking sheet or a casserole dish. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt, pepper, smoked paprika, and garlic powder.

3) Bake for 20-25 minutes.

4) Serve topped with grated Parmesan cheese and lemon juice. Try to save some for lunch the next day if you can stop yourself from eating it all in one sitting!

Leave a Reply

